Our Love Story…Part One

I always love reading love stories on blogs and I want to document ours while I still remember! Corey is the one with the better memory but I wanted to record my account here, plus I thought it was a good excuse to drag out our big bin full of dating memories! 😉

My first memory of Corey was at his parents’ church in South Carolina. He was wearing a blue shirt and I think khaki pants. Our families met before he and I ever did, since I was away at school. I don’t remember the timeline of when I met him, I just have the visual in my mind!

I worked at my college (which was located in Florida) yearround so I rarely came home for breaks, and when I did, they were whirlwind trips consisting of quick church visits, trying to rest and trying to spend time with my family and maybe a few friends. Once I graduated college in 2011, I spent a summer in Wisconsin as a lifeguard but felt sick and weak most of the summer and it only got worse as the summer progressed. I thought it may have something to do with my diet, so I made some changes, but by the end of the summer I was in bed with achey joints and wanted to do nothing but sleep.

Looking back on it I wonder if my college years finally caught up to me and feeling so sick that summer was my body’s way of screaming that I needed to SLOW DOWN. My college years were extemely hard on me and my body, (another story for another day) and I was constantly sick, tired and going to the clinic on campus. I was diagnosed with strep several times, took stress tests, and was sent with a prescription for antibiotics several times. I know you may be wondering what all this has to do with our love story but my health has played a huge role in our relationship. I’m getting there, promise. I’m a details girl. 😉 Side note: I plan to do a full blog post on my health and weight journey another time because I often qet questions about it.

Back to how I met Corey…I ended up flying home early from summer camp to get some blood tests and to give my body the rest it needed. I really wanted to purchase my own car though, and at the time I don’t think I realized how weak my body was so I got some blood tests done and quickly started a nanny job to save for a car. This was August of 2011 (hard to believe this was 6 years ago!) When I wasn’t nannying I was home in my pajamas, sleeping, resting or spending time with my family. Enter, Corey. 😉 He was 18, (I was 22) a sophomore in college at the time, and my younger brother and he were good friends. Our home was actually closer to his college than his home was so he would often spend time studying or working on schoolwork or just hanging out at our house.

Most of my friends from before college had either moved away or were in different stages of life so after I graduated I honestly didn’t have many close friends who were local. I was living at home which gave me a lot of precious time with my younger siblings, but it was still a bit of a lonely season for me. Corey and I quickly formed an unlikely friendship and I liked that he was trustworthy and would talk about spiritual things with me. I always felt at ease around him and he made me laugh. I remember one day we were sitting at my parents’ kitchen table and I think he was probably working on schoolwork. He was telling me about this tutoring program that he was involved in at his school and how sometimes he would get free movie tickets for helping. He casually asked me if I would want to go help him use the tickets. I was like, “well, I know this isn’t a date, but you still need to ask my Dad.” Nice, Mandy. Shortly after Dad came in the dining room and next thing you know, we were on our way to the mall for some food and then to our local theatre to see Captain America. I remember exactly what I wore (my dark-wash jeans from Maurices and my black camp T-shirt with neon lettering.) Nothing fancy, but if you know me you know I’m not fancy. 😉

526893_10151241694216923_179152786_n

Picture from the earlier days of our friendship. I heart this picture! Thank you, Dad Farnsworth, for being our personal photographer while friends, dating and now forever! 🙂

While we were at the mall on our “friend date” I remember feeling very tired and weak and like I needed a lot of food. I was embarrassed because I was already feeling chunky after those extra college and camp food pounds I had put on and if I remember right I think we went to Chick-fil-a before AND after the movie because I felt so weak. I remember standing in the mall and Corey’s hand lightly on my back asking me if I was ok and if I needed to sit down to rest and at that moment I remember thinking, “I like this guy.” He was kind and gentle and smart and stable. While we were sharing a peach milkshake at the mall I got the call from my Mom that my blood test results were in and that I had tested positive for mono. I wasn’t sure if I was shocked or if I expected it, but it was actually relieving to know there could be a reason for me feeling like crap all the time. Mom made a joke about not kissing Corey which we all laughed about because we all knew it was just a friend date. 😉

And now is the part where I leave you hanging until next time. 😉 I’ve got to get some work done and also start organizing our memory box, apparently!

Happy Hump Day!

XOXO,

Amanda Mariah ❤

Leave a Reply

